Editor or Coach?

I recently read an article during my district’s MRI training. The article asked if we were editors or coaches when it came to our students writing. At the end of the article there was a sliding scale and we were asked where we thought we were on the scale. After some thought I believe my “spot” on the continuum a moving piece depending on the part of the day my students are writing. During my students morning journaling I move toward the Coach side. When reading their journals I am looking for what they have to say not what they spelled correctly. And enjoy responding to their questions or asking them questions. The rest of the day, if feel like I side back toward the Coach side. As a teacher, I had the mindset that this was improving their writing to know what needed to be correcting. This article helped me to remember being that student who dreaded writing be I knew spelling was not my best feature (it still isn’t.) As this year begins, I want to keep this article in mind.

Leave a Reply

